How I Meal Plan.

on

Hello again! So today I’m going to be posting a blog all about meal planning and prepping and the way that works best for me. Honestly, finding a balanced way of planning my meals has been such a huge help in my recovery. It allows me to have a set idea in my head of what I’m going to be eating, and it really helps to stop me skipping meals. I hope this helps, as designing a meal plan for recovery was extremely different to the so called ‘food plan’ I followed when I struggled at my worst with anorexia (It usually consisted of gum, water and fruit).

Don’t count the calorie content: When jotting down the food, it is still really tempting to just stick the calorie number down next to it. This is such a huge tip that, starting a recovery meal plan, while still looking up calorie content, just doesn’t work. It is difficult to start off with, but slowly allowing yourself to distance from the nutritional values of food is the best and initial step that has to be taken when starting a recovery meal plan.

Never meal plan when in a negative mindset: This is so important. If our meal plan I’m a negative mindset, you will undoubtedly lower your meal count, subconscious calorie intake and just overall, food. Yo might not even be aware of it, but trust me, you will. Only ever meal plan when in a positive mindset – it honestly will have such a huge difference on the rest of your week too. If hat is difficult, never meal plan without a parent/trusted person reviewing it.

Use positive quotes: This one sounds really weird, but it honestly helps me so incredibly much. Just jotting down a few reasons why you need to eat, the positives of recovery can literally have a huge difference on your life. One of my personal faves is ‘Where had not eating ever gotten you?’. These simple little pieces of positivity will always be there, and will help you ignore the anorexic and negative thoughts when eating or preparing a meal.

Always create a shopping list . This is one of those things that never really crossed my mind but I now don’t know how I’d survive without it. Next to each weeks meal plan, I have a shopping list, where I will look at everything I need to pick up that day. This prevents the classic situation of not eating because there is no food in the house, which used to happen a lot! Preparation is really important!

Meal plan by the week. This is what suits my meal planning anyway, but obviously it is down to personal preference! I like to have an idea of what I need to buy, and if there is any meal prepping involved. 

Be flexible. Honestly, this is the one thing I initially struggled with, I wouldn’t allow any change to my set meals. I now know that, it is ok to switch things up, and is actually a really good thing! Don’t worry if you eat chips and ice cream, even when you had planned a protein pasta dish. A day, or even a week of bad eating is not going to cause anything to happen, and it is actually vital really. Don’t live by your meal plan, it is there for guidance.

So, that is how I meal plan! I really hope this has helped anybody thinking of recovery meal plans. Meal planning is one thing that is such a good way to ensure I’m eating regu,army and reaching a good calorie and protein number. 

I hope your week is going well, and, as always stay safe and strong,

3 Comments Add yours

  1. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    I’m trying to manage my weight a little and this helped a lot. 🙂 Thanks.

    Like

    1. casyyy says:

      I’m glad it has helped, but remember you are beautiful both inside and out xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

        Yeah that’s true 🙂 I’m mainly just trying to eat healthy so I don’t gain more weight. I’ve been eating more carbs than I need to and I want to clean it up because I’ve started exercising and drinking more water. Basically I just want to live a healthier life.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

